Getting Stuff Done

One thing I see a lot of on blog posts these days, are ways to help produce your creativity and your creative output. And it’s not just the average blogger like you or I. Stephen King has written a book solely about his own ‘how-to’ of writing, if you will. Neil Gaiman has spoken on it, Joss Whedon, too. In fact, I’ll make an assumption that every author who has ever penned anything noteworthy (or not noteworthy at all) has had something to say on Getting Stuff Done.

Here’s my two pence.

Stop reading about how to Get Stuff Done and just Get Stuff Done.

This is going to be a rather short post. You know why? Of course you do. Because I’ve got Stuff to be Getting Done.

3 responses to “Getting Stuff Done

  1. the very book you’re referring to by Steven King is what kicked my ass into gear and started me writing in the first place, around the same time the book came out i was at a book convention in NYC and heard him speak on writing and wrote my first fan letter ever afterwards to thank him for writing the book, and tell him that it did it’s job and got me writing-
    shocked was i when i got a return note from Mr King himself; i’d signed my letter ‘ gabba gabba hey’ knowing he was a Ramones fan and he signed his ‘gabba gabba hey yourself’… it was kinda cool πŸ˜€

    Joss Whedon.
    Joss Whedon, Just no words to describe how much i love the brain of Joss Whedon, as evidenced by my avatar lol
    I will forever mourn the loss of Firefly and Dollhouse.

    • Hey I love both those guys, too. Especially Master King. And yeah “On Writing” was an eye opener for me. But I’m just making the point that at some stage we need I stop looking for ways of getting stuff done. Just open your laptop, take out your pen and write!! πŸ™‚

      PS I love firefly too!

  2. I am a HUGE Stephen King fan and I have to say, his book on writing was okay, but I’d rather read his fiction. Now as to your advice; You are right. There are days when I spend probably 80% of my time reading how to blogs which causes me to procrastinate, when I should just sit my backside down and do what I need and want to do, which is write. Thank you for the motivational pep talk this morning! Now go get stuff done!

Leave a Reply

