My new novel’s title

I’ve been wondering whether I should be telling anyone this or not, but I thought, what the hell. My novel has been coming along slowly these past few months. Sporadic periods of writing followed by weeks of ignoring it and now, well, lately it has been coming easier and it has been a daily present in my life.

As someone who writes a lot of short stories, I have found that when I get an idea for a short story, the title seems to come right along with it. Just like the night follows the day, the title follows the idea. With this novel, it has been quite different. I have tens of thousands of words written and yet it failed to materialize. Anxious, disappointed, worried: YES! I was all those things. Until the other day when I posted a piece on here about the ‘words not coming.’ Well, only moments later, the title fell into my lap. Rather it floated into my psyche.

‘As the Black Crow Flies.’

Firstly I will ask you NOT TO STEAL IT!!! Secondly, I’m not looking for an opinion on it like a worried mother wondering if she is raising her firstborn correctly. No, I am just happy to share it. It’s quite odd because although the story was coming along slowly, it was still coming along. Now, however, since it has a title (its real title) the novel feels more real somehow. Now I can picture it on bookshelves or on amazon. I am already working on the book cover in my mind. Not only has the title brought me a sense of relief it also has brought a new sense of optimism that, yes, the book is on its way. Not since the idea for the novel first birthed itself have I been this excited and more importantly, motivated.

2 responses to “My new novel’s title

  1. It’s strange how a title can propel us forward in our writing. I have made up words for my titles so should be fairly safe in the knowledge that they will not be stolen from me. I ove your title and wish you luck with it.

  2. The alchemy of a title… and it sounds like something one ought to pick up while happily perusing books online. That’s a small vote of confidence, I know, but keep in mind that this is from someone who had the crazy notion just the other day to write short stories and start a blog (coinciding with the inception of yours, strangely enough).

Leave a Reply

